My name AND gender have been stripped from me by the Federal G.

image

image

As part of the ongoing search for my recorded past from the U.S. Federal Government, I have sent records requests out to various U.S. entities, such as the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the U.S. Marshalls, Central Intelligence Agency, National Security Agency, Defense Intelligence Agency and others.

I figured a variety of paperwork shenanigans would follow, given all the times I made Freedom of Information Requests in the past, and I have not been let down by our bureaucrats in Washington D.C. (just had to get spell check to change bureaocrats to bureaucrats and felt good I didn’t know how to spell bureaucrat off the top of my skull).

But dear Lord in heaven, did they HAVE to strip my name and balls? Come on!

The NSA has already taken my name and given me a case number. Now, the FBI has stripped my gender away. Granted, after more than four decades of having my names – Shelly, Stacey, Sheldon – mumbled in various lists, mail outs and roll calls  – Spears, Spire, Spores, Spouses – I have become adept at answering yes when I feel like it to whatever is thrown out there.

But Hell, when the FB I takes your title away it strikes deep.

The U.S. Marshalls got in a snit because I didn’t sign a form that had no place for a signature, and split the difference on my sex by just not giving me a title or honorific. I like their style.

This means another letter, another form and more postage. Glad to do my part in contributing to our letter carriers’ future retirement plan.

The Colonel

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

