Forgotten Films: The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes (1970)

Technicolor Dreams

To my heirs:

In my lifetime, I have recorded some sixty cases demonstrating the singular gift of my friend Sherlock Holmes — dealing with everything from The Hound of the Baskervilles to his mysterious brother Mycroft and the devilish Professor Moriarty. But there were other adventures which, for reasons of discretion, I have decided to withhold from the public until this much later date. They involve matters of a delicate and sometimes scandalous nature, as will shortly become apparent.

Since Arthur Conan Doyle’s perennial deductive literary creation is making a big-screen comeback, I thought it high time to dip into the dusty tincture of other celluloid Holmes and examine an artifact from another era. Of course, I speak of Billy Wilder’s THE PRIVATE LIFE OF SHERLOCK HOLMES, his truncated 1970 Road Show glimpse into the man, the myth and the pipe. Wilder and favored screenwriter I.A.L Diamond envisioned the film…

View original post 653 more words

Leave a Reply

